Home > Professional Development > Inspired Decision Making

Inspired Decision Making

4 Oct 2017   Shanti Gowans

The Yoga Sutras offer a practical system of 10 guidelines for decision-making known as the Yamas and Niyamas.  When you learn to employ these concepts in daily life, you will be able to reliably access your own intuitive wisdom that will guide you to resolve every issue skillfully.

These time-honored guidelines will teach you how to transform the contractive power of unhelpful, stress-provoking, negative emotions and habits into an expansive, creative and dynamic force. 

Five abstinences, the yamas, and five observances, the niyamas can guide your decision making. Commit to them.

Five commitments to avoidance include:

- Non-violence

- Non-lying

- Non-stealing

- Non-misuse of sexuality

- Non-greed.


The five commitments to observe are:

- purity

- contentment

- effort

- self awareness

- awareness of the greater good.


Add Your Comment

Password  Forgotten your password?


About Shantiji

Shanti Gowans is the globally recognised author and founder of Shanti Yoga™, Meditation and Ayurveda for the self, family and community.

Shantiji has brought the concepts and practices of a healthy body and a still mind to thousands of Australians through her Yoga and Meditation programs on national television... Read more about Shantiji's biography

India-Nepal Tour

Travel with Shanti & Peter Gowans this November for a trip of a lifetime. 

india tour taj mahal