Home > Yoga > The 5 layers of consciousness, koshas

The 5 layers of consciousness, koshas

19 Aug 2017   Shanti Gowans

You are so much more than your physical body, emotions and mind. You are actually composed of five layers of consciousness, which in the yogic tradition are known as the 'koshas'. These are sheaths that envelop and separate your being from its nondual consciousness.

The first layer is the anna maya kosha, the layer of consciousness nourished by food and material atoms. It is strengthened by asana.

The second is prana maya kosha, the layer of consciousness nourished by pran, the vital energy and life force. It is strengthened by pranayama, yoga breathing practices.

The third is mano maya kosha, the layer of consciousness that is the seat of the mind. It is strengthened by pratyahara, and its practice of yoga relaxation, yoga nidra.

The fourth is vijyana maya kosha, the layer of consciousness that is the seat of wisdom. It is strengthened by concentration, dharana, and meditation, dhyana, which awakens your yogic heart.

The fifth is ananda maya kosha, the layer of bliss. It is strengthened by mantra, and chanting kirtan and bhajans, which expands your levels of energy, consciousness and love.

The koshas are connected with the five basic elements: earth, water, fire, wind and space.

They exist at the entre of your radiant, yogic self and a a doorway to nondual consciousness, atman-brahman.





Add Your Comment

Password  Forgotten your password?


About Shantiji

Shanti Gowans is the globally recognised author and founder of Shanti Yoga™, Meditation and Ayurveda for the self, family and community.

Shantiji has brought the concepts and practices of a healthy body and a still mind to thousands of Australians through her Yoga and Meditation programs on national television... Read more about Shantiji's biography

India-Nepal Tour

Travel with Shanti & Peter Gowans this November for a trip of a lifetime. 

india tour taj mahal