Home > Yoga > Three Bodies

Three Bodies

31 May 2017   Shanti Gowans
All human beings have three bodies, or three personality aspects of consciousness, namely
- the Physical body, stula sharira 
- the Subtle body, the body of enjoyment, sukshma sharira, and
- the Causal Body, karana sharira.
The historical person, or the body of manifestation or form, is the physical body. It is the manifested being who is born among other human beings. The bodies of form are many, and differ from one another.
The pure, selfless, spiritual enjoyment (not to be confused with sensual pleasure) is the subtle body.
The essence, which is independent of the person realising it, is the eternally present, impersonal abstract principle that embodies the Truth behind everything. The embodiment of this Truth is the causal body. 
In (Mahayana) Buddhism these three bodies (tri kaya) are called:
- Nirmana kaya, the manifestation body
- Sambhoga kaya, the enjoyment body, and 
- Dharma kaya, the Truth body.



Add Your Comment

Password  Forgotten your password?


About Shantiji

Shanti Gowans is the globally recognised author and founder of Shanti Yoga™, Meditation and Ayurveda for the self, family and community.

Shantiji has brought the concepts and practices of a healthy body and a still mind to thousands of Australians through her Yoga and Meditation programs on national television... Read more about Shantiji's biography

India-Nepal Tour

Travel with Shanti & Peter Gowans this November for a trip of a lifetime. 

india tour taj mahal